Model assessment · Branch

Branch Tria Standing Desk (Walnut / Charcoal) review

A two-leg electric standing desk assessed here in three exact U.S. Walnut / Charcoal complete-desk selectors. Branch specifies a laminated-MDF desktop; Walnut is the finish name. Actual tops are 47.2 × 27, 58 × 27 and 70.9 × 29.5 inches, with a shared 25.5–48.9-inch finished-surface range.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Branch Tria standing desk with Walnut-finish top and Charcoal legs; image does not identify size or optional accessories
Official Branch image of the Walnut / Charcoal finish pair; size and photo-versus-render status are not stated. Branch
A useful fit for

A fit when the shopper wants the manufacturer-listed Walnut / Charcoal finish pair, an included Tria desktop in one of the documented actual sizes, and the published 25.5–48.9-inch finished-surface range is suitable. The dark base is a finish choice, not a different performance grade.

The main tradeoff

The Walnut label does not mean solid walnut: Branch identifies laminated MDF. Published capacity is 275 lb, but static/dynamic basis and desktop-mass treatment are unstated. The largest marketed 71 × 30-inch option measures 70.9 × 29.5 inches; accessories such as tray and in-desk power are optional.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which exact Tria desktop and leg-color pair do you need?

This review covers Walnut top with White legs. Branch identifies the desktop material as laminated MDF; Walnut is a finish name, not a solid-wood specification.

Explore this need in the finder →
What minimum actual top length and depth must one complete desk provide?

The largest Walnut / White plan is 70.9 × 29.5 inches; the middle is 58 × 27 and the smallest is 47.2 × 27 inches. Nominal 71 × 30 labels are rounded.

Explore this need in the finder →
What is the highest acceptable minimum finished work-surface height?

Branch states a 25.5-inch lower completed-surface endpoint for Tria. A lower required minimum is not supported by this evidence.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is laminated MDF acceptable, or must the surface be solid wood?

Branch’s Tria specification identifies laminated MDF. This exact Walnut finish is suitable only if that documented material meets the shopper’s need.

Explore this need in the finder →

Branch Tria Standing Desk · Walnut / Charcoal configuration review

The Walnut top with Charcoal legs is the darker-base version of Branch’s Tria: a powered, two-leg desk offered here in three exact sizes. The finish choice changes the look, not the published working range. Branch identifies the top as laminated MDF, so “Walnut” should be read as a finish name rather than proof of a solid-walnut surface.

Choose this pair for the base color, not a different frame

The archived Branch selector lists Walnut / Charcoal as a distinct top-and-leg combination. Its official image shows a warm brown, wood-look top with dark charcoal legs, matching the selector text. The image does not identify which of the three sizes is shown, and Branch does not say whether the image is a photograph or rendering. Use it to recognize the finish pair, not to judge the top’s construction, size, color in every room, or included accessories.

Compared with the Walnut / White Tria, the documented difference is the leg color. The product specification does not assign the Charcoal version a different motor, height range, capacity, control, or warranty. A darker base may be easier to coordinate with a dark monitor arm or other office furniture, while White legs make a brighter contrast; those are room-matching choices, not evidence of different performance. If the leg color is unimportant, compare the actual desktop size and package details before paying attention to the finish name.

Use the measured surface, not just the rounded size label

Branch’s selector calls the surfaces 48 × 27, 58 × 27, and 71 × 30 inches. The Tria specification sheet gives the actual top dimensions as 47.2 × 27, 58 × 27, and 70.9 × 29.5 inches. The nominal labels are rounded: a strict 71-inch length requirement or a full 30-inch depth requirement is not met by the largest option. Check a room plan against the finished desk and moving space, and include room for a chair to pull back; the three plan footprints differ enough that “large” or “small” alone is not a useful fit test.

The 47.2-inch top is the most compact selector, but decide whether it leaves enough room for your displays and papers. The 58-inch option adds length while retaining 27 inches of depth. The 70.9 × 29.5-inch top is the largest of this set, but it still falls just short of a true 71 × 30 surface. All three selectors include the desktop and the electric frame; none is a frame-only offer in this assessment. If an essential minimum is larger than the published actual dimensions, do not treat a rounded option name as a workaround.

Check both ends of the completed desk’s height range

Branch lists a 25.5-to-48.9-inch range measured to the completed desktop surface. The specification does not give a separate bare-frame range. The 25.5-inch lower endpoint matters if you need a low seated position: compare it with your chair, keyboard height, and preferred elbow position rather than relying on a general height recommendation. At the upper end, confirm the position works with your monitor and that cables have room to move. Three-stage lifting columns, two saved height presets, collision detection, and an OLED handset are listed by Branch. These are useful controls to compare on paper, but they do not establish stability or collision performance in independent testing.

The desk also has built-in Bluetooth for Branch’s Ergonomics app and programmable reminders. Those functions may be useful if you want app-based tracking; if you only need repeated sitting and standing heights, the two handset presets may be enough. A USB-C port appears on the handset, but the sources reviewed do not state its wattage, so it should not be treated as a guaranteed laptop charger. Branch’s speed and under-50-decibel noise figures are manufacturer claims, not measurements made for this review.

Budget for cable management and confirm load terminology

The product specification lists a cable notch, included felt organizer and cable clips. A cable tray and in-desk power are optional add-ons; drawers and casters are not included in these selected desk configurations. If you need an enclosed tray or outlets at the desktop, price and verify the exact add-on separately rather than assuming the lifestyle image shows the delivered package. The 10-year tabletop-and-frame warranty is Branch’s stated term; check current exclusions and claim conditions before buying.

Branch publishes a 275-pound maximum/lift-capacity figure, but the reviewed specification does not say whether that is static or dynamic, or whether the desktop’s mass is deducted. The frame’s motor count is also not stated in the material reviewed. That means this desk cannot be matched confidently to a hard requirement for a separately defined static or dynamic rating. It is also not the right evidence for anyone who needs solid wood: the Tria top is laminated MDF, including this Walnut finish.

Who should shortlist Walnut / Charcoal?

Choose this exact selector if you want a Walnut-finish laminate top over Charcoal legs and one of the documented complete-desk sizes fits your space and equipment. Choose Walnut / White instead if you want the same top finish with a lighter base; compare other exact Branch top/leg selectors if you need another surface appearance. Neither color pairing changes the verified actual dimensions or stated operating range. This assessment is a good fit only when laminated MDF is acceptable, 25.5 inches is low enough for your seated setup, and the unqualified 275-pound capacity claim is sufficient for your needs. It is a poor fit when solid wood, a full 71 × 30-inch top, a lower surface setting, or a specified load basis is essential.

Assessment based on Branch’s archived U.S. product page, selector feed, product specification, assembly guide, and the personally inspected Walnut / Charcoal manufacturer image. Availability and checkout status can change.

Key details at a glance

Leg count2
Minimum supported desktop width47.2 in
Maximum supported desktop width70.9 in
Minimum supported desktop depth27 in
Maximum supported desktop depth29.5 in
Programmable height presets2
Cable tray includedNo
Published frame and mechanism warranty10 years
Frame layouttwo-leg
Minimum working-surface height with desktop25.5 in
Maximum working-surface height with desktop48.9 in
Built-in drawer includedNo
Built-in AC/USB power panelNo
Built-in AC outlets0
Documented desktop materiallaminate

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a desk around your real setup.

Start with whether you need a complete desk or a converter for an existing fixed desk, then choose the support layout and surface package. Add exact height, top and cable constraints only when they matter.