Model assessment · Branch

Branch Tria Standing Desk (Black Oak / Charcoal) review

A two-leg electric desk assessed in three exact U.S. Black Oak-top / Charcoal-leg complete-desk size selectors. The top is laminated MDF; Black Oak and Charcoal are finish labels, not evidence of solid oak or a different frame generation.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Representative Branch Tria image showing a Black Oak top and Black legs; the assessed selector has Charcoal legs and is not size-specific.
Representative Branch Tria manufacturer image: Black Oak top with Black legs. This assessment covers Black Oak / Charcoal selectors; the image does not show Charcoal legs, identify top size or optional accessories. Branch
A useful fit for

A fit candidate when you specifically want the Black Oak top / Charcoal legs, a laminated-MDF surface is acceptable, and one of the three actual sizes suits your available space. Check the 25.5–48.9-inch finished height range against your sitting and standing positions.

The main tradeoff

The representative manufacturer image shows the Black Oak top with Black legs, not the selected Charcoal legs; it is not size- or accessory-specific. Branch’s 275 lb maximum/lift-capacity basis and desktop-mass accounting are not stated. The cable tray and in-desk power are compatible add-ons, not included features.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which exact Tria top and leg-color pair do you want?

This assessment covers Black Oak top with Charcoal legs; these are finish selectors, not a claim of a different Tria frame or substrate.

Explore this need in the finder →
What minimum actual desktop size must the included top provide?

The actual surfaces are 47.2 × 27, 58 × 27 and 70.9 × 29.5 inches; the last is marketed under a rounded 71 × 30 label.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the material and lowest surface setting fit your setup?

Branch specifies laminated MDF and a 25.5-inch lower finished-surface endpoint; solid wood or a lower surface is not established.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a complete two-leg desk configuration?

Each exact SKU is listed as a two-leg desk with the top included.

Explore this need in the finder →

Branch’s Tria in Black Oak with Charcoal legs combines a dark laminated desktop with a dark gray frame. It is not the same selector as Black Oak with Black legs: the archived U.S. feed distinguishes the leg finish and assigns this pair three separate SKUs. The distinction matters if you are matching an existing room or need a specific color. It does not imply a different motor or a different load rating. Branch calls the desktop laminated MDF; “Black Oak” is its finish name, not a material specification for oak veneer or solid oak.

Three complete-desk sizes, with different useful depth

The small selector is sold under a 48 × 27-inch label but the specification lists its actual top as 47.2 × 27 inches (SKU 10-14-05-73). The middle is 58 × 27 inches (10-14-09-73). The largest is marketed as 71 × 30 inches and measures 70.9 × 29.5 inches (10-14-13-73). If you are fitting the desk into a niche, measuring around a door swing or relying on a particular monitor-arm clamp, use the actual edges rather than the rounded size name. Only the large top adds the documented 2.5 inches of depth; the middle primarily buys more length. The feed identifies each as a complete-desk configuration with the top included.

Each size shares the Tria’s 25.5–48.9-inch finished desktop height range. Check the low endpoint against your seated elbow position and chair; check the high endpoint against where your shoulders and wrists land while standing. Branch does not publish a bare-frame range in the cited product sheet, so a separate top-thickness calculation would be inappropriate. If neither endpoint works for your body or chair, a different desk range is a more important decision than choosing Charcoal instead of Black legs.

What is shared across the finish options

The Tria specification lists three-stage lifting columns, two memory presets, collision detection and programmable movement reminders. Branch also publishes speed and sound claims; they are not independently measured comparisons here. Keep the area under and above the desk clear as it moves. Collision detection is a convenience, not a promise that every obstacle, cable or child will be protected in every situation. The handset is reversible left-to-right and has a USB-C port, but the source does not state its charging wattage, so do not count on it to power a high-draw laptop.

The included PET-felt cable organizer, clips and cable notch provide a basic route for tidying wires. A full cable tray is listed as compatible but is optional. These selectors do not include a built-in AC/USB power panel or a drawer. If either is essential, do not assume you can obtain it from the photograph, add-on menu or a separate purchase and still have the same included package. Make that feature a required configuration-level question and compare a desk whose documented plan actually supplies it.

Capacity caveat and who should keep looking

Branch gives the Tria a 275-pound maximum/lift capacity. The source does not identify the number as static or dynamic, nor explain whether the desktop mass is deducted. That leaves an important planning detail uncertain for a setup with several monitors, speakers and heavy equipment. Do not convert the advertised figure into a verified usable-equipment allowance; if your expected load is near the limit, ask the manufacturer how it is calculated. The specification also states a 10-year warranty for the tabletop and frame components, subject to the current warranty’s terms and exclusions.

This finish is most useful when you want the Black Oak top with Charcoal rather than Black legs and one of the three actual surfaces fits. Pick by exact top dimensions first, then by whether the finished height range and included accessories meet your needs. The adjacent Black Oak / Black option is the closest visual alternative if you want a darker leg finish; the Black Oak / White pair keeps the top but changes the frame contrast. If a true wood top, a 30-inch actual depth, a lower-than-25.5-inch surface, integrated power or an unambiguous moving-load capacity is essential, this Tria configuration does not establish that requirement. The color pairing can narrow the choice, but it cannot turn those unknowns or absent features into a match.

Key details at a glance

Leg count2
Minimum supported desktop width47.2 in
Maximum supported desktop width70.9 in
Minimum supported desktop depth27 in
Maximum supported desktop depth29.5 in
Programmable height presets2
Cable tray includedNo
Published frame and mechanism warranty10 years
Frame layouttwo-leg
Minimum working-surface height with desktop25.5 in
Maximum working-surface height with desktop48.9 in
Built-in drawer includedNo
Built-in AC/USB power panelNo
Built-in AC outlets0
Documented desktop materiallaminate

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose a desk around your real setup.

Start with whether you need a complete desk or a converter for an existing fixed desk, then choose the support layout and surface package. Add exact height, top and cable constraints only when they matter.